ani

Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins) Reviews


<Go to Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)
9
Reviews
5
A Compassionate Director 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:47:27
I think Ms,Katie is a wonderful person and a great leader,she is compastion to the people who are the volunteers as much as the other people who work their,everyone was like a big family.
Volunteers 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:45:23
I was a volunteer and I loved it, yes it was work but I enjoyed each and every animal I fostered,
Public Relations/Community Involvement 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:44:19
They are at PINE HILL DAYS and other activies
Medical and Behavior Programs 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:43:36
This shelter will not adopt any animals out unless the animals before hand and they are checked and they try very hard to keep the animals alive even the ones that the chances are slim
Comprehensive Adoption Programs 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:41:33
Its a shame that the shelter cant advertize better, but the people around Wiggins are not as finanialy stable as a larger town/city,but I think with what they have to work with I think its great in what they have...
Foster Care 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:39:32
I was volunteer and I loved it,from kittens to cats,and puppies to dog,
Rescue Groups 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:38:39
I was on one of the transfer trips, and it was great to know all the dogs would go to good homes, we went down to Fla, I went with a great woman,
High-Volume, Low-Cost Spay/Neuter 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:37:07
I think its wonderful giving people who are on fixeed income to help them spay/neuter their pets.
Feral Cat TNR Program 5 average
5 posted by Dee, on 2013-08-25 11:36:11
I worked as a foster mom for this wonderful shelter, It has grown so much since it first started,I moved but I miss taking care of kittens as small as a couple of days old to older cats, I also fostered pupps to dogs and I loved every min. of it, I wish the STONE COUNTY Shelter many wishs and Im sure it will someday become one of the best shelters in MS, with Ms,Katie I'm sure, she is a wonderful woman,so caring,understanding,She is a great president of the shelter.
Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

1. Feral Cat TNR Program

Many communities are embracing Trap, Neuter, Release programs (TNR) to improve animal welfare, reduce death rates, and meet obligations to public welfare.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

2. High-Volume, Low-Cost Spay/Neuter

Low cost, high volume spay/neuter will quickly lead to fewer animals entering the shelter system, allowing more resources to be allocated toward saving lives.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

3. Rescue Groups

An adoption or transfer to a rescue group frees up scarce cage and kennel space, reduces expenses for feeding, cleaning, killing, and improves a community's rate of lifesaving. In an environment of millions of dogs and cats killed in shelters annually, rare is the circumstance in which a rescue group should be denied an animal.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

4. Foster Care

Volunteer foster care is crucial to No Kill. Without it, saving lives is compromised. It is a low cost, and often no cost, way of increasing a shelter's capacity, improving public relations, increasing a shelter's public image, rehabilitating sick and injured or behaviorally challenged animals, and saving lives.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

5. Comprehensive Adoption Programs

Adoptions are vital to an agency's lifesaving mission. The quantity and quality of shelter adoptions is in shelter management's hands, making lifesaving a direct function of shelter policies and practice. In fact, studies show people get their animals from shelters only 20% of the time. If shelters better promoted their animals and had adoption programs responsive to the needs of the community, including public access hours for working people, offsite adoptions, adoption incentives, and effective marketing, they could increase the number of homes available and replace killing with adoptions. Contrary to conventional wisdom, shelters can adopt their way out of killing.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

6. Pet Retention

While some of the reasons animals are surrendered to shelters are unavoidable, others can be prevented-but only if shelters are willing to work with people to help them solve their problems. Saving animals requires communities to develop innovative strategies for keeping people and their companion animals together. And the more a community sees its shelters as a place to turn for advice and assistance, the easier this job will be.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

7. Medical and Behavior Programs

In order to meet its commitment to a lifesaving guarantee for all savable animals, shelters need to keep animals happy and healthy and keep animals moving through the system. To do this, shelters must put in place comprehensive vaccination, handling, cleaning, socialization, and care policies before animals get sick and rehabilitative efforts for those who come in sick, injured, unweaned, or traumatized.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

8. Public Relations/Community Involvement

Increasing adoptions, maximizing donations, recruiting volunteers and partnering with community agencies comes down to one thing: increasing the shelter's exposure. And that means consistent marketing and public relations. Public relations and marketing are the foundation of all a shelter's activities and their success. To do all these things well, the shelter must be in the public eye.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

9. Volunteers

Volunteers are a dedicated "army of compassion" and the backbone of a successful No Kill effort. There is never enough staff, never enough dollars to hire more staff, and always more needs than paid human resources. That is where volunteers come in and make the difference between success and failure and, for the animals, life and death.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

10. Proactive Redemptions

One of the most overlooked areas for reducing killing in animal control shelters are lost animal reclaims. Sadly, besides having pet owners fill out a lost pet report, very little effort is made in this area of shelter operations. This is unfortunate because doing so-primarily shifting from passive to a more proactive approach-has proven to have a significant impact on lifesaving and allow shelters to return a large percentage of lost animals to their families.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

 

11. A Compassionate Director

The final element of the No Kill equation is the most important of all, without which all other elements are thwarted-a hard working, compassionate animal control or shelter director not content to regurgitate tired cliches or hide behind the myth of "too many animals, not enough homes." Unfortunately, this one is also oftentimes the hardest one to demand and find.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

Thank you for submitting your review!


Spread the word!

I just reviewed: Stone County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Wiggins)

www.nokillnetwork.org
In Mississippi