ani

The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully) Reviews


<Go to The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)
22
Reviews
3
A Compassionate Director 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:27:25
The owner was rude, cold, heartless and disrespectful.
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:45:18
The directors and management of The Cat Corner are on the front line and take an active interest in their management.
Proactive Redemptions 1 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:26:26
(no comment)
Volunteers 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:25:46
Like their cats volunteers are also treated badly with a high turnover of volunteers
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:44:29
All of the volunteers we met are genuinely passionate and committed 100% to the welfare of their cats, and take an interest in the cats that find forever homes.
Public Relations/Community Involvement 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:24:58
I wouldn't donate to Cat corner. I feel sorry for these cats that are their possessions not treated as animals that owners love and care about.
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:43:40
For a small, all-volunteer group, they maintain a big social media presence and feedback and social media pages are quite well done.
Medical and Behavior Programs 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:23:08
My cats wasn't rehabilitated. We weren't told of any of his health issues and then when their where issues they couldn't have cared less
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:42:09
There were quite a few cats that were there that required time, patience, money and TLC to recover, and they made sure that the cats were being rehabilitated.
Pet Retention 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:20:58
This shelter does not work with people. They are cold, emotionless and rude. No compassion to owners and their cats that have complicated issues. Don't buy from their because if you have problems, they don't care
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:41:23
The Cat Corner make sure that their cats that they care for have been suitably de-stressed and used to their human slaves, and take the time to make sure their charges are looked after.
Comprehensive Adoption Programs 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:18:15
Cat corner keeps their cats in cages in a factory that smells with no fresh air. That's cruel and inhumane but their proud of it
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:40:22
The team took the time to ensure that the cats were suited to our living arrangements and would not be unhappy or stressed as we live near a main road and have kids.
Foster Care 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:15:05
Foster carers didn't know our cat. How could they when we told they had other cats and dogs. Our cat was very underweight when he came to us, but we were told he was happy, eating and fine. The truth was he wasn't eating, highly anxious and sick. Proof 4.1kg when we bought him...5.27kg 6 months later
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:39:25
(no comment)
Rescue Groups 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:12:16
They don't take time to tell you where your cats have come from. You buy them from a Pet Store and have no background to how sick and anxious they are
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:39:21
(no comment)
High-Volume, Low-Cost Spay/Neuter 3.7 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:10:38
They desexed our cat but he came to us with an infection
5 posted by ChrisJaworski, on 2015-09-25 07:39:10
(no comment)
5 posted by TessChu, on 2015-09-15 07:20:38
(no comment)
Feral Cat TNR Program 3 average
1 posted by DebbieSanders, on 2017-03-04 05:09:57
(no comment)
5 posted by TessChu, on 2015-09-15 07:20:23
I adopted my (then) kitten from this place almost 4 years ago now back when they were operating in Boronia! Not only were they incredible with the animals they had, they were helpful and kind and helped me pick out a lifetime friend. All the cats and kittens were healthy and happy, had been loved and so much effort and work put in to transition them into new homes. Whenever friends ask me, where did I get such a gentle friendly beautiful cat I tell them! I hope this review makes someone go down to either adopt or help out with donations :)
Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

1. Feral Cat TNR Program

Many communities are embracing Trap, Neuter, Release programs (TNR) to improve animal welfare, reduce death rates, and meet obligations to public welfare.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

2. High-Volume, Low-Cost Spay/Neuter

Low cost, high volume spay/neuter will quickly lead to fewer animals entering the shelter system, allowing more resources to be allocated toward saving lives.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

3. Rescue Groups

An adoption or transfer to a rescue group frees up scarce cage and kennel space, reduces expenses for feeding, cleaning, killing, and improves a community's rate of lifesaving. In an environment of millions of dogs and cats killed in shelters annually, rare is the circumstance in which a rescue group should be denied an animal.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

4. Foster Care

Volunteer foster care is crucial to No Kill. Without it, saving lives is compromised. It is a low cost, and often no cost, way of increasing a shelter's capacity, improving public relations, increasing a shelter's public image, rehabilitating sick and injured or behaviorally challenged animals, and saving lives.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

5. Comprehensive Adoption Programs

Adoptions are vital to an agency's lifesaving mission. The quantity and quality of shelter adoptions is in shelter management's hands, making lifesaving a direct function of shelter policies and practice. In fact, studies show people get their animals from shelters only 20% of the time. If shelters better promoted their animals and had adoption programs responsive to the needs of the community, including public access hours for working people, offsite adoptions, adoption incentives, and effective marketing, they could increase the number of homes available and replace killing with adoptions. Contrary to conventional wisdom, shelters can adopt their way out of killing.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

6. Pet Retention

While some of the reasons animals are surrendered to shelters are unavoidable, others can be prevented-but only if shelters are willing to work with people to help them solve their problems. Saving animals requires communities to develop innovative strategies for keeping people and their companion animals together. And the more a community sees its shelters as a place to turn for advice and assistance, the easier this job will be.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

7. Medical and Behavior Programs

In order to meet its commitment to a lifesaving guarantee for all savable animals, shelters need to keep animals happy and healthy and keep animals moving through the system. To do this, shelters must put in place comprehensive vaccination, handling, cleaning, socialization, and care policies before animals get sick and rehabilitative efforts for those who come in sick, injured, unweaned, or traumatized.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

8. Public Relations/Community Involvement

Increasing adoptions, maximizing donations, recruiting volunteers and partnering with community agencies comes down to one thing: increasing the shelter's exposure. And that means consistent marketing and public relations. Public relations and marketing are the foundation of all a shelter's activities and their success. To do all these things well, the shelter must be in the public eye.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

9. Volunteers

Volunteers are a dedicated "army of compassion" and the backbone of a successful No Kill effort. There is never enough staff, never enough dollars to hire more staff, and always more needs than paid human resources. That is where volunteers come in and make the difference between success and failure and, for the animals, life and death.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

10. Proactive Redemptions

One of the most overlooked areas for reducing killing in animal control shelters are lost animal reclaims. Sadly, besides having pet owners fill out a lost pet report, very little effort is made in this area of shelter operations. This is unfortunate because doing so-primarily shifting from passive to a more proactive approach-has proven to have a significant impact on lifesaving and allow shelters to return a large percentage of lost animals to their families.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

 

11. A Compassionate Director

The final element of the No Kill equation is the most important of all, without which all other elements are thwarted-a hard working, compassionate animal control or shelter director not content to regurgitate tired cliches or hide behind the myth of "too many animals, not enough homes." Unfortunately, this one is also oftentimes the hardest one to demand and find.


Rate it:

Comments:


Post your review of The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

Thank you for submitting your review!


Spread the word!

I just reviewed: The Cat Corner (Ferntree Gully)

www.nokillnetwork.org
In Victoria